I am a TOPS grad

In recognition of the 25th anniversary of the Taylor Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS), the Patrick F. Taylor Foundation is initiating the “I am a TOPS grad” campaign to create a TOPS graduate community. All TOPS graduates are invited to celebrate their achievements via Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/IamaTOPSgrad and be a part of this special community of TOPS graduates, parents and supporters.

The State of Louisiana administers the TOPS program and the Patrick F. Taylor Foundation is a non-profit organization whose goal is to provide awareness.

TOPS Constitutional Amendment Passed

On October 22, 2011, Louisiana voters passed Constitutional Amendment No. 1. Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal said, “We have met with the Taylor Foundation over the last few weeks to discuss how we can continue to protect the program even during times of budget reductions. This amendment will be very important to protecting the future of the TOPS program because it constitutionally protects more TOPS dollars. Currently, about $15 million is protected through the TOPS Fund –and under this constitutional amendment – that will increase to about $58 million.”

Alaska becomes 23rd Taylor Plan State

On May 10, 2010, Governor Parnell signed SB 221 into law, creating  the Alaska Performance Scholarship. This merit-based scholarship will provide incentive for Alaska students to take a more rigorous curriculum to better prepare for college or job training and success. The scholarship will be awarded to students who attend accredited, Alaska post-secondary institutions, including colleges, universities, and job-training programs.

Wyoming enacts Taylor Plan

On March 4, 2005, Governor Dave Freudenthal signed into a law the Wyoming Hathaway Scholarship Program.  The program establishes endowments for higher education and scholarships for Wyoming high school students to attend a Wyoming community college or the University of Wyoming. The legislation provides merit and need-based awards to eligible students to help them attend. The scholarship honors the late Governor Stan Hathaway.